So Money - Episode 112

Ask Farnoosh

Farnoosh Torabi

— To stream the interview click here.

— To download the mp3 right click here and choose “save as”

In today’s Ask Farnoosh episode:


I am 26 years old. Live at home (NYC) with my parents, 3 other siblings (ages 16, 19, &25) in a 2 bedroom apartment. I have $9,000 in savings, $25,000 in student loans (paying down the student loans), I make $45,000 a year (looking for a higher paying job) and want to move out and get my own apartment-No Roommates. At what stage should I move out? I want to move out asap!!  I also plan on pursuing a graduate degree.


I have a question about saving for retirement when you’re a long-term freelancer on payroll at a company that doesn’t offer a 401k. My accountant told me I’m ineligible for a SEP IRA because I’m paid through a W2. I’m 41 years old and have a little over $100k in a combination of Roth, Traditional and Rollover IRA’s. My financial advisor would like me to be saving $10k per year for retirement. I think it should be more like $20k. I already contribute the maximum to an IRA each year, but how can I be saving more without a 401k or SEP IRA?


My husband and I make about $48,000 before taxes as actors and teaching artists. We have worked over the past 2 years to save $8000 in an ER fund. I owe $4800 in student loans. Is it worth taking money from the ER fund and getting rid of the student loan debt? And then replenishing each month with the same about I was putting towards the student loan ($123)?


How do I survive a long distance relationship (450mi) and not go broke or into debt?

Join thousands of ambitious people like you.

Take part in Farnoosh’s thriving personal finance community and receive her ebook, SO MONEY SECRETS, for free.